National Taiwan University
National Taiwan University

Important Facts

  • Student Enrollment:


  • Faculty:


  • Sponsored Projects:


  • Male to Female Ratio:


  • Alumni :


  • Increase in Admission:


  • Applicant Count:


  • International Students:


  • Establishment:



  • University Offices:
    No. 1, Section 4, Roosevelt Rd, Da’an District, Taipei City, Taiwan 10617
  • Telephone:
    +886 2 3366 3366
  • Fax:
  • website

The National Taiwan University (NTU) is a co-educational, national research university founded in 1928. Founded by the administration of Japan in its colonial rule, is was formerly known as Taihoku Imperial University. It got its present name, given to it by the government of the Republic of China, after World War II. It is situated in Taipei, Taiwan.

Apart from the campus at Taipei, there are 6 other campuses. It has 4 research centers, 54 departments, 11 colleges, and 103 graduate institutes. There are 6 more campuses apart from the main campus located in Da’an District. In 2014/15, the university had 31758 students of which 5.5% were international students and 4163 faculty members.

The university is strongly research- tied with Academia Sinica, Taiwan. It is accredited with the ASAIHL (Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning), APRU (Association of Pacific Rim Universities), and AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business). A list of successful alumni of the university are George Kuo, One of the discoverer of Hepatitis C; Tsai Ing-Wen, President of the Republic of China; Koo Chen-fu, Chairman of the Koos Group of companies; Wen Shang-Yi, Guitarist of band Mayday; Hsein-yung Pai, writer.