University of Oslo
University of Oslo

Important Facts

  • Student Enrollment:


  • Faculty:


  • Sponsored Projects:


  • Male to Female Ratio:


  • Alumni :


  • Increase in Admission:


  • Applicant Count:


  • International Students:


  • Establishment:



  • University Offices:
    Blindernveien 9, Domus Theologica 0315 Oslo, Norway
  • Telephone:
    +47 22 85 50 50
  • Fax:
    (507) 786 3789
  • website

Located in the capital city of Norway, Oslo University was established in the year 1811, making it the oldest university in Norway. Previously, it was known as Royal Frederick University, and was renamed as Oslo in 1939.

Ever since its establishment the University has been involved in doing groundbreaking research. Law and Science plays the major role in its research work. Today, the university is home to more than 27,000 students and has around 6,000 people working as administrative and academic staff. It has 8 faculties or department of interest, along with museums, library, and support centers to enhance the educational and academic experience.

The 8 faculties include Faculty of Theology, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Social Sciences, and Faculty of Education. The university offers 800 courses, which is distributed among the above mentioned 8 faculties. Also, as a matter of fact, more than 75% of the student in Oslo are not from Norway, but are international students.

The University’s Atrium has been used to award Nobel Peace Prize from 1947 to 1989, which makes it a matter of pride for it is the only university involved in awarding Noble prize. On the other side, there are 5 Noble Prize laureates associated with the University, Odd Hassel, Ivar Giæver were the one receiving the Noble Prize.