University of Tokyo
University of Tokyo

Important Facts

  • Student Enrollment:


  • Faculty:


  • Sponsored Projects:


  • Male to Female Ratio:


  • Alumni :


  • Increase in Admission:


  • Applicant Count:


  • International Students:


  • Establishment:



  • University Offices:
    7 Chome-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo, Tokyo 113-8654, Japan
  • Telephone:
    00 81 3-3812-2111
  • Fax:
  • website

The University of Tokyo was established in 1877 after merging Tokyo Medical School and Tokyo Kaisei School. At present, it comprises of 15 graduate schools, 10 faculties, 13 university- wide centers, 3 affiliated libraries, and 11 research institutes. Often called as Todai or UTokyo, it is a research university in Bunkyo, Tokyo, Japan.

It has 5 campuses which are in Hongo, Nakano, Komaba, Kashiwa and Shirokane. It is one of Japan's seven national universities. It offers international courses, undergraduate and postgraduate programs under 10 faculties out of which some are medicine, law, engineering, arts, pharmaceutical sciences, sciences, economics, and education. It is affiliated with APRU (Association of Pacific Rim Universities), IARU (International Alliance of Research Universities), and AEARU (Association of East Asian Research Universities).

In 2014/15, the university had 26199 students and a faculty of 3793 members. 10% of the students enrolled were international citizens. With students, researchers and faculty from different backgrounds, Utokyo is a totally global university. Famous alumni of the University of Tokyo are Satoshi Omura and Yoshinori Ohsumi - Nobel Prize winners in medicine, Kenzo Tange and Toyo Ito- winners of Pritzker Architecture Prize, and Leo Esaki- Nobel Prize winner in physics.